Flat-hunting

The omniscient ‘they’ say that moving home is the second most stressful life event after bereavement. I can see that.

Because I’m me, I added in some special bonus extras, doing the move alone, in a country where I don’t speak the language, and with just a 6 day window in which to find a place that was habitable and affordable…

Well, you can imagine the week I’ve had!

Some observations on the Viennese rental market:

Strange household arrangements: freezer in the bedroom, shower in the kitchen, anyone? Great for late-night ice-cream-binge sessions, certainly.

A preponderance of cold, dark, draughty studios for the low-low price of just 550 euros per month. No thanks.

A disappointing lack of balconies / outside space in general.

Luckily, the city is pretty small, and the metro goes like a dream, so I was able to whizz around and see places without too much difficulty.

I found two great places in Neubau (yes, the freezer-in-the-bedroom was one of them), only to be rejected by the landlords in favour of other potential tenants, and then, with less than 24 hours to spare, I finally secured a six-month stay in a cosy little studio in district 2, Leopoldstadt.

This is not my new home

I haven’t had much time to explore the neighbourhood, and it could be closer to my place of work, but it is relatively central and I’ve already discovered a literary cafe on my street, so I’m happy.

NB: My shower is in my kitchen.

